What is the Legal Age to get a Tattoo in Every State of America? | Freehand
Logo

What is the Legal Age to get a Tattoo in Every State of America?

Post image

Most states in the USA require you to be 18 to get a tattoo. However, some are as low as 14 and there are a handful of states that have no legal tattoo age laws at all. If you're interested in the legal age to get a tattoo around the entire world then check out our comprehensive guide on the topic here. However, if you are curious about the United States and the legal tattoo age per state then you are in the right place. Let's get into the data!

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Alabama

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Alabama. However, you do need parental consent in the form of a written note which is signed in the presence of the artist. 

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Alaska

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Arizona

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Arizona. However, the parent of guardian must be present at the time of the tattoo.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Arkansas

18 years old. It is illegal to get a tattoo under the age of 18. No parental consent rules apply in Arkansas.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in California

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Colorado

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Connecticut

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Connecticut.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Delaware

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Florida

16 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Georgia

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Hawaii

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Hawaii.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Idaho

14 years old. 

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Illinois

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Indiana

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Indiana.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Iowa

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Kansas

16 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Kentucky

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Kentucky. However, parental consent can be requested by the tattoo artist.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Louisiana

16 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Maine

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Maryland

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Maryland.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Massachusetts

18 years old. 

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Michigan

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Michigan.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Minnesota

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Mississippi

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Missouri

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Missouri.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Montana

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Montana.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Nebraska

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Nebraska.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Nevada

Nevada state law does not enforce or regulate any tattoo rules. This means there is nothing stopping you getting a tattoo in Las Vegas or Nevada. Not even your age.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in New Hampshire

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in New Jersey

16 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in New Mexico

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in New Mexico.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in New York

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in North Carolina

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in North Dakota

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in North Dakota.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Ohio

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Ohio.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Oklahoma

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Oregon

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Pennsylvania

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Pennsylvania.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Rhode Island

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in South Carolina

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in South Dakota

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in South Dakota. However the parent or guardian must sign a consent form allowing the person to be tattooed.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Tennessee

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Texas

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Utah

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Utah but you must have parental consent in the form of a written note and provide ID.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Vermont

There are no laws in relation to tattoos in Vermont. This means it does not matter how old you are.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Virginia

There is no legal age requirment to get a tattoo in Virginia.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Washington

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in West Virginia

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in West Virginia.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Wisconsin

18 years old.

 

Legal age to get a tattoo in Wyoming

There is no legal age requirement to get a tattoo in Wyoming.

 

 

Some frequently asked questions in relation to the topic:

 

Can I get a hand or neck tattoo as a minor?

Typically tattoo artists will not tattoo the hand or neck area on people underage because they understand that we regret a lot of the decisions we make as children and young teenagers. They are likely to refuse tattooing this area for that reason.

 

Are body piercing laws the same as tattoo laws for minors?

No. Laws for body piercings are different. 

 

Can a tattoo artist go to prison for tattooing a minor?

The short answer is yes. However, the laws vary a lot depending on the state. Since tattooing is technically a medical procedure the law can be strict when applying punishments. It is more likely the tattooist will receive a fine but do you really want to take the risk? Most tattoo artists are not desperate enough for work that they will risk their career.

 

 

Summary:

 

You should now know how old you have to be to get a tattoo in the state you live in but it's a good idea to check with your desired tattoo artist before paying a deposit to make sure. You will likely have to sign a contract before going ahead with the tattoo. 

 

If you are underage and are thinking about getting a tattoo anyway, I would reccomend waiting because most good and reputable tattoo artists will not tattoo a minor and you could end up with some ink that you may regret. Patience is key. If you are finding it really hard to resist the urge then why not get a tattoo design created first? This may scratch the itch and you will also end up with a really cool tattoo design. We have plenty of artists available to hire that are ready to draw your custom tattoo idea. No matter the style, you should be able to find a professional tattoo designer. Good luck!

Featured artists